NOTICE OF HOFSTRA AAUP CHAPTER ELECTION RESULTS IN SPRING 2020

Dear Members,

Balloting has been conducted by Yes Election (formerly Election America). Ballots were sent to the membership by first class mail on or around April 6th, 2020. The official counting of votes began on May 5th, 2020 at 1 pm, with the pick-up of the ballots at the Mineola Post Office. A representative from the Committee on Elections, Michael Dores, was present to witness the transfer and counting of ballots at the Yes Elections office (155 Mineola Blvd, Mineola NY). In addition, candidates were invited to witness the election process via Zoom.

To all of the candidates in this year's elections: Thank you for your service.

The following are the election results:

Hofstra AAUP Nominations (Final)

OFFICERS:

President

Patricia Navarra: 55 Elisabeth Ploran: 183

Winner: Elisabeth Ploran

2nd VP for Collective Bargaining

Anthony Basile: 154 Jonathan Lightfoot: 76

Winner: Anthony Basile

Steering Committee (one seat)

Deborah Elkis-Abuhoff: 207

Winner: Deborah Elkis-Abuhoff

Unit Representative (ten open seats, please note unit)

Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts

Tammy Hensrud: 20

Margaret Stein: 3

Winner: Tammy Hensrud

Natural Sciences & Math

Scott Lefurgy: 55

Winner: Scott Lefurgy

Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy and International Affairs

Robert Guttmann: 28 Veronica Lippencott: 0

Winner: Robert Guttmann

Health Professions and Human Services

Jayne Kitsos Ellinger: 20

Winner: Jayne Kitsos Ellinger

Graduate Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies

Amy Roberts: 8

Winner: Amy Roberts

Zarb School of Business

Rina M. Hirsch: 17 Debra Pollack: 0

Winner: Rina M. Hirsch

DeMatteis School of Engineering & Applied Sciences

Elizabeth Scott: 7

Winner: Elizabeth Scott

Herbert School of Communication

Write in: Isabelle Freda: 1 Write in: Hillary Topper: 1

Result: Tie

Hofstra Library

No write-in votes

School of Education

Write-in: Rebecca Natow: 1

Winner: Rebecca Natow

Congratulations to all. If you have any questions, please contact Chair Michael Dores (<u>Michael.R.Dores@hofstra.edu</u>) or any member of the Election Committee.

In solidarity, Election Committee